For the Recipe Book!

Hey everyone! 😀

This morning we (my mother, younger brother, and I) met some friends from church to go to the Boston Science Museum. The children in that family are quite a bit younger than my brother and I, but it is always a joy to spend time with them! We enjoyed learning about frogs, spiders, and the human body. 😉

***

I have an awesome breakfast recipe to share with you! Like, you guys… this is the breakfast. The best breakfast you will ever have. It is SO good! I make it more in the Fall and Winter, because it is a baked meal, but it’s delicious all year round. 😉 Here it is!

SOUTHERN BAKED OATMEAL

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar (or honey)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 cups oatmeal
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • (I add cinnamon, but that is optional)

Cream together butter and raw sugar (or honey).Add eggs and beat until well blended. Mix in oatmeal, baking powder, salt, and milk. You can add raisins, dried fruit, or nuts if you would like. Pour into a 8x8x2″ baking dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Garnish with your choice of milk, cream, applesauce, maple syrup, honey, etc.

I’ve made this quite a few times, and my family and I love it. I hope you do as well!

 

This recipe is from one of my favorite recipe books. It’s called The Homestead Blessings Cookbook: Home Cooking with The West Ladies. I recommend you purchase one to add to your collection at the Homestead Blessings website.

Image taken from Stock Snap.

Leave a Reply

