Buttermilk Pie and Pie Crust

Hello!

Today, I received my new Singer sewing machine! (Yay!!) So, needless to say, I was sewing up a storm this afternoon. I finally got around to making a skirt that I had been asked to make for a dear woman in my church.

So, I am going to share with you an absolute favorite recipe of mine. It’s called Buttermilk Pie. It has the consistency of a pudding or custard. It’s very sweet, so you can adjust the recipe to your taste. And what pie can be made without pie crust? I’ll include the recipe for a pie crust as well. Hope you try it out and enjoy!

Buttermilk Pie

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 tbsp. flour
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg (I use cinnamon, instead)
  • 1  9″ pie crust

Cream butter and sugar together; beat in flour and eggs. Blend buttermilk, vanilla, and nutmeg; stir into flour mixture. Spoon or pour into pie crust and bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes or until center is firm and set. It should be golden brown on top. Cool well before serving. (Personally, I sprinkle cinnamon on top.)

Pie Crust

  • 2 cups all-purpose, unbleached white flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup cold water

Mix together flour and salt, cut in butter into mixture is the size of peas. Blend in water until flour is moistened and shaped into a ball. Divide dough in half and roll out one at a time. If dough is too dry, add in more water. If dough is too sticky, keep flouring your hands and working surface.

Well! There you go! I often make the Buttermilk Pie, as it is a favorite family treat. And whenever I am in need of pie crust, I use the one that I gave you. It is perfect for every pie! Have a blessed rest of the evening!

 

Both of these recipes are from The Homestead Blessings Cookbook: Home Cooking with The West Ladies.

Image taken from Stock Snap.

One thought on “Buttermilk Pie and Pie Crust

Leave a Reply

