Summertime Drinks!

Hello! 🙂 Nice to be talking/writing to you again.

This year, my garden isn’t doing very well. I have gotten some cherry tomatoes and a couple heirloom tomatoes (and they were SO sweet and yummy!!), two green peppers, and a few zucchini (<– is that right??), mint, and some basil. Ok… so where’s everything else? I should have a ton of tomatoes! And my basil should be nearly taking over my garden! And what about my poor cucumber plant? You guys… it doesn’t look good. Everything is wilting and drying up. And the heat wave has not helped! However, there is one thing that is taking over my garden! And that is my sweet mint. (But, even that is slowly dying). So, for those of you that are having good results with your garden, and even more specifically, mint, here are some delicious ways to use sweet mint in your ice-cold drinks! And, because I couldn’t help myself, other ingredients to give your summer drinks a special POP!

 

Sweet Mint Water

I love mint water! It’s so refreshing! Fill a pitcher with water and put clean mint leaves in the pitcher. You don’t need to chop up the leaves or anything, just toss them in. Put the pitcher (with the leaves) in the refrigerator and leave it over night. You can also do this in the early morning hours and it’ll be ready by afternoon. Basically, the longer you leave it in the ‘fridge, the stronger taste you will have. How many leaves you add in depends on how strong you want the flavor to be. I typically put in 5 leaves and that gives the water a good taste. (I also like putting mint leaves in my water bottle, but not 5!)

 

Sweet Mint Lemonade

This is just like Sweet Mint Water, except you add the mint leaves to your lemonade. Leave it in over night, or all day, and you’ll have some great-tasting lemonade!

 

Sweet Mint Ice Cubes

This is super easy! Just add one or two clean mint leaves into your ice-cube tray. It’ll add that extra pop to your lemonade or water! (You can even add this into soda… seriously, mint is good in a lot of different drinks!)

 

Cucumuber-Mint Water

This is just like Sweet Mint Water, only you add cucumbers to it. Slice about half of your cucumber into thin cuts. You don’t want to add too much to the drink, because you don’t want it to over power the mint… but trust me, mint is hard to over power! Cucumber isn’t very strong anyways. (This is also good in lemonade.)

 

Cucumber Water

This is so refreshing! Personally, I love cucumbers. So watery and crisp…. ahhh. Now I want to snack on some cucumbers! 😉 You may want to add more than just half of a cucumber if you really want that cucumber-y taste.

 

Strawberry Lemon Basil Water

This one is so good! I totally recommend it! All you need is about 5 or 6 strawberries, quartered, 1/2 of a lemon, sliced, and a handful of basil. Fill the pitcher to the top with ice and water. Add in the fruit and basil. (Don’t forget to scrunch up the basil, so the flavor escapes.) Put it in the ‘fridge and let it sit for at least an hour. SO good!

 

Watermelon Mint

Yes… I know what you’re thinking… “Why haven’t I thought of this before?!” This one is really good too! (Let’s be honest now, they’re all really super good). Dice up as much watermelon as you want. Toss it in a pitcher filled with water and ice. Add in some mint leaves. Let it sit in the ‘fridge for at least 4 hours.

 

And y’all! Don’t forget the most important part of this whole post. Every summer drink looks better in a mason jar. That’s right. Every one of them.

Hope you try some of these out! And let me know in the comment section if you have a favorite summer drink recipe. 😀 Have a blessed rest of the day!

 

Photo taken from Stock Snap.

One thought on “Summertime Drinks!

Leave a Reply

