New Process Catalogue & Cook Book

Heyo!

Today would be a good day to try some of those summer drinks! SO hot!!!

I came up with an awesome subject to blog about today… and that is, my *number of greats* grandmother Koch’s cook book. I know I have a great-great-great-great Uncle Frederick Koch (but he later changed the spelling to Cook) so that may give us clues on when she lived. But it could also just be a family name. Anyways, I have a cook book that belonged to her and, boy oh boy, is it old!!

Its called the New Process Catalogue & Cook Book.

It is full of recipes and notes from my grandmother. I’m going to share a recipe from this book with you.

  • image

It’s called Roast Goose. Have I ever tried this recipe? …… No. I’m not privileged to have geese in my backyard for my delight. But, for some reason, every time I show this book to someone, this is the recipe I show them. I guess it fascinates me. Back then, people didn’t just go to the store real quick and pick up an already-butchered goose. They went to their backyard and grabbed one! So, here is a tried and true recipe for roasted goose.

Roast Goose

Select a goose with a clean white skin, plump breast, and yellow feet; if the feet are red, the bird is old. Pluck, singe, draw, and carefully wash a wipe the goose. Cut off the neck close to the back, leaving the skin long enough to turn over. Cut off the feet at the first joint. Skewer the wings and legs in the proper position, and fill the body with a sage and onion dressing made as follows: Peel four large onions, put them into boiling water; let them simmer ten or fifteen minutes, and just before they are taken out, put ten sage leaves into the saucepan with the onions and let them simmer a minute or two to take off their rawness; remove from the saucepan, drain, chop both onions and sage leaves very fine, add a quarter of a pound of bread crumbs, one and a half ounces of butter, pepper and salt to taste and one well beaten egg. Mix all thoroughly together. When the goose is stuffed sew up the opening with strong fine thread; tie the skin over the end of the neck bone, place in a baking pan with two or three ounces of butter, and if necessary a cup of hot water, and bake in a hot oven, basting frequently. Four or five hours will be required for baking a large goose. When done take it from the oven, remove the threads and skewers, place on a hot platter and garnish with cress. Cook the neck a giblets in a pint of water; mash the liver and chop the gizzard as fine as possible. Drain off the drippings from the roasting pan, set the pan on the stove, put the water in which the giblets were cooked into it, add the giblets, thicken with browned flour, season with pepper and salt, and send to the table in a gravy tureen. Stewed apples are a nice accompaniment for baked goose.

 

There you go! Let me know how it goes! ;P Someday I will give you a recipe from this book that you can use soon. Let me know in the comments if you have anything from your ancestors or relatives that is really important to you. Have a blessed day! (And stay cool!)

 

Image taken from Stock Snap.

Leave a Reply

