Feed Sack to a Tote Bag

Hey!!

When I was at the Bolton Fair I saw a very creative way to recycle pet food bags. Y’know, those plastic ones? Well, I decided to give it a try and make my own. 😉 Here it goes!

You will need–

  • 2 feed bags
  • Scissors (sharp)
  • Pins
  • Sewing machine
  • Measuring stick/tape

First, clean out the feed bag. Make sure no food is left! I just hosed my bags down.


Cut both edges down to the bottom. Then cut the bottom as well.


Measure about a half inch on the top. Flip the half inch over and pin it. Then sew it.


These are my two tops, sewn.


Put the two sides you cut out on top of eachother. Pretty side on pretty side. Pin them.


Sew all of the sides together.

Cut out a long strip of the plastic from your second bag. Pin the strap together and then on to the sides of the bag. Then sew it up!


To add a platform to your bag, take one bottom corner of your bag and flatten it together. Pin across it. Then you need to cut along where you pinned.


Then sew it. Now do the same thing to the other side. Make sure you measure so that they’re the same size!


This is what the bottom should look like when you’re done.


Ta-da!!! There it is! I can use this when I go shopping at the pet store. And I can hang it in the rabbit shed and put supplies in it. Very useful!

Have a blessed night!

 

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

One thought on “Feed Sack to a Tote Bag

  1. Thank you, Aly! That is so helpful. I’ve seen this before on other blogs, but it looked somewhat hard. You make it look fun and easy. I’m going to have to give it a try. I have a similar chicken feed bag that is now empty and sitting all alone. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

