Laundry Soap

Hey everyone!

I’ve been making laundry soap for a while now, and I really like the recipe. I’d like to share it with you! Let me know in the comments how it goes. 😉

You will need

  • 14.1 oz Zote Bar
  • 1 cup Borax (optional: this will make the soup a lot stronger and could harm fragile materials)
  • 5 gallon bucket (or larger) and lid
  • A stirrer (a paint stirrer will work)
  • Grader
  • 5 gallons hot (really hot) water
  • A funnel
  • Containers/jugs to store the soap in

 

I have the computer there because I was listening to an audio. 😉


I got these pink Zote bars on Amazon.com, but got white Zote bars at Wal-Mart for only $0.99. I bought the 20 Mule Team Borax at Walmart as well.


Grate the Zote bar into the bucket.


All grated!


Pour in two gallons of really hot water. (I only had a half-gallon carton this time around).


Stir it up until the soap shreds are melted.


If you’ve decided to put in borax, now is the time. Pour in one cup of borax. Then add two more gallons of really hot water. Stir it up until the borax has dissolved.


Add the last gallon of hot water and stir a bit more. Put the lid on the bucket and put it all away.


I finished making it at about 9:05pm. So in 24 hours, I can open it up!


After 24 hours it was slimy, but still liquidity, so I left it over night. (Note: in hot weather, it tends to be more liquidity anyways. During the cold months it will be very jello-like. You will have to slice it.) After I let it sit for about another twelve hours, it was more solid. If it’s really solid, then you may have to continually slice it with a spatula or something of the like. This time around, it wasn’t very solid. I just stired it up with my hand.


Now what you want to do is put a funnel in the jug that you’re using.


Pour in the soap! You can use a scooping spoon, a measuring cup, or whatever you want to use to pour in the soap. Don’t forget to let it drip before you pour it in, or else it may make a mess. Also, don’t fill it up all the way, leave about three inches on top to shake the jug.


If you have enough jugs, you can fill them all up and store them away. We usually only have two or three, so we fill them up and leave the rest of the soap in the big bucket.

These are the two jugs that I filled up! We use old laundry detergent jugs and washed milk cartons. The soap has a strong scent of ivory. This recipe makes 5 gallons of laundry detergent.

When you do your laundry, just use one cup of soap. Depending on whether your batch of soap is more liquidity or solid, it may or may not work in your washer’s detergent compartment. If it’s more liquidity, it will not hold and will fall right through (which is perfectly fine, by the way) and if it’s more solid then it will hold until the washer lets it go. I personally don’t use the detergent compartment, I just pour the cup of soap directly on my clothes.

Don’t forget to share some soap with your friends. 😉

Let me know if you have any questions! God bless!

 

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

5 thoughts on “Laundry Soap

  1. By the way, you should post your toothpaste recipe–partly because I’m running out and need the recipe to make more, but also because it is so good that you need to share it with everyone else too!

    Like

  2. Yes, Aly’s laundry soap is amazing! She shares it with us and we enjoy it immensely 🙂 Everyone should make this recipe. If I’m not mistaken, you save a ton on $ by making your own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

