Homemade Fly Spray

Good evening, everyone! (My goodness, these blog posts are getting later and later…)

I promise they won’t always end being so late! Allow me to give an excuse? I have been at my friends’ home all day. We came home and I took a nap, then we had dinner, and then I finished listening to an audio drama. And guess what slipped my mind! Yup….

As I am running out of time, I will give you a quick recipe for fly spray. If there’s one thing I struggle in, with the cleanliness of my rabbit shed, it’s definitely flies. They are everywhere!! (Yuck!) So I came across this recipe on one of my favorite homesteading blogs, The Prairie Homestead. It’s all-natural, so that’s certainly a blessing, and it’s easy to make if you have the ingredients on hand. Here it is:

You will need:

  • 4 c. raw apple cider vinegar
  • 20 drops of rosemary essential oil
  • 20 drops of basil essential oil
  • 20 drops of peppermint essential oil
  • 2 T. liquid oil (olive oil, canola oil, etc)
  • 1 T. dish soap

Mix it all together in a spray bottle. Shake it well before spraying it. Spray it frequently throughout the day. You can apply this directly to the animals if they are larger farm animals (goats, cows, pigs). But you wouldn’t want to spray this on a rabbit or chicken. I spray it all around my rabbit shed a few times a day and it has really helped. 😉

If you don’t have raw apple cider vinegar, white vinegar or pasteurized apple cider vinegar will work just as well.

Hope you had a great day! And have a blessed Lord’s Day tomorrow! Talk to you on Monday. 🙂

 

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

Leave a Reply

