Bread Day Favorite

Hello!

Today, I am in New Hampshire visiting some of my family. But I have prepared this post for you ahead of time. I hope you enjoy!

******

Every once in a while, I have a ‘bread day’. In which I make lots of bread (biscuits, loaves, small loaves, etc.) And sometimes this day includes a Buttermilk Pie and a delicious pie crust. One of my favorite (perhaps I have too many favorites, as I use that word often…) bread recipes is called Grandma’s Honey Wheat Bread. I have had good results with this recipe and would love to share it with you!

Grandma’s Honey Wheat Bread

  • 4 cups warm water
  • 2 heaping tbsp. yeast
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp. salt
  • 2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 9 cups (approx.) all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350°. Whisk together first seven ingredients. Add wheat flour first and up to 9 cups all-purpose flour. Let rise until double. Punch down and shape into loaves. Let rise to double again. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes. Yields 4 large loaves or 5 small ones.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! Blessings!

 

Ask God to bless your food, but don’t expect him

to make your bread.

 

The book I got this recipe from was given to me by a dear friend. The book is called Amish Friends Cookbook by Wanda E. Brunstetter.

Leave a Reply

