‘Raising Maidens of Virtue’- Book Review

Hey everyone! 😉

One of my most treasured books (notice I said ‘treasured’ instead of ‘favorite’ because I am determined not to use that word for at least the next ten posts…) is called Raising Maidens of Virtue: A Study of Feminine Loveliness for Mothers and Daughters. I’m really going to try to keep this shorter than my book review for Stepping Heavenward.

Whenever I write a book report or review it takes so much of my effort to keep from writing out the whole story for you. When I have to write a 600 page report for school I barely get through the introduction by 605 words…    I’m sorry guys…. just skim through the review, ok? 😉

~~~~

Raising Maidens of Virtue was written by Stacy McDonald in 2004. The closing paragraph of the forward, written by Jennie Chancey, states: “May we give our daughters a vision of maidenhood that is every bit as glorious and joyful as this one! May we help them to treasure their femininity and cultivate the godly beauty of a quiet spirit as we prepare them for womanhood.” I think that this statement pretty much sums up the goal and content of the book. Stacy McDonald gives such a godly and biblical look on being a “woman who professes godliness” (1 Tim. 2:10). The book is meant for mothers to go through with their daughters, but I was immensely encouraged by it just reading it on my own. After I had read this book just about three times (no joke) I finally went through the book with my mom.

I feel like my mother and I became a lot closer after reading through this book together. It gave us the opportunity to talk with the questions listed at the end.

The book has 19 chapters. Stacy McDonald discusses modesty, loving who you are in Christ, honoring your father- as he is your heart’s keeper until you marry, hospitality, peer pressure, the danger of idleness, and so much more. This book is such an excellent tool in bringing up a young girl in ‘feminine loveliness’ and taking on the role of a woman of God proudly.

Every chapter begins with a prayer and a verse. Almost every chapter has a story to illustrate what that topic is about. Spread out through the book, there is beautiful artwork done by Johannah Bluedorn.

At the end of every chapter, there is a list of questions that are thought-provoking and fun to answer. This makes a very good Bible Study book for mothers and daughters as well. The chapters and questions are filled with Bible references!

I have honestly lost count of how many times I have read this book. I recommend it to my friends in the church as often as I find the opportunity. I pray that someday I can use this book to disciple young ladies within the church or use it with my own daughters!

~~~~

You can buy this book on Amazon for $4.30 (used) and for $9.99 on kindle. I hope you give it a try! Let me know in the comments how you like it, if you do decide to try it out. Have a blessed day! 🙂

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

Leave a Reply

