Just Be Thankful

Again… I get hit with this huge wave of “Thank you, Lord, for everything I have!!!”

I keep on remembering things to thank the Lord for! Over and over again I say, “Oh! And thank you for that too!”

Remember that random ‘Thankful for Washing Dishes’ post? Yeah… well… that was me being for thankful for everything that entered my mind. “Thank you for my dog”, “thank you for this book I’m enjoying”, “thank you for my friends”, “thank you for the blessed soul that invented ice cream”……   Am I making fun of myself?

Nope!

In fact, I didn’t log on to my computer and bring up ‘Create New Post’ just to tell you about what’s been going through my mind (although I could’ve left it there since that’s what a blog is for…), I came here to tell you that praying my thanks over everything is the most wonderful and encouraging thing I’ve done.

It reminds me that there is so much MORE to be thankful for than there is to be complaining about. I remember how much my Heavenly Father has given me. The tiniest, littlest things… like… pretty lights. Conveniences like a sink with running water. Imagine running down to the creek every time you needed water?! If that were the case, the Laura Ingalls Wilder books wouldn’t be such a great series to read. *Whispers* Thank you, Lord, for that amazing series.

Of course, we are all thankful for things like family and shelter. However, do we really take the time to think about what those things mean to us?

I’m just sayin’, y’all, that it wouldn’t hurt us to whisper “thank you, Father” every time we think of something we enjoy, OR don’t enjoy. We need to show the Lord our thanks even when we’re in a situation that puts us in a blue mood.

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Jesus Christ for you.” (1 Thes. 5:16-18)

I am not about to write that I am thankful in all of my frustrating situations. But I can say that my Lord is working on me and sanctifying me every day. And THAT is something to be thankful for.

 

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

Leave a Reply

