I Am Thankful For…. Senses

Hello! Hope you had a blessed day. 🙂

I am now realizing that I probably should have imitated Laura over at God Never Fades. One week… is not enough to express thankfulness. One month probably woulda been better One lifetime probably woulda been better. But! This is what I’m doing this year, so I gotta stick with it. Let’s get started!

 

Our Senses…

I’m gettin’ real creative, guys. You were expecting me to say something like ‘family and friends’, weren’t you? Yeah… I know…

No, my friends, I am thinking outside the proverbial box. (AKA let’s see how long I can keep my readers’ interest before I literally say that I’m thankful for my dog…. which may end up happening by Thanksgiving Day).

Seriously, y’all! Have you ever thought about how incredible it is that we see? That we see COLOR? I’m sure you have! I don’t know where you are right now, but if you’re like me you’re probably curled up in a fluffy blanketed ball in your living room. If you’re one of those lucky ducks then you’re curled up in a fluffy blanketed ball, by a fire, with a cute mug of hot chocolate and big fat marshmallows…. one of those mugs of hot chocolate that has a cute snowman on it or beautiful winter scene. And you’re probably also looking out over a snowy plain while the stars radiantly shine in front of a black sky. Yeah. Anyway… Where was I going with this? Oh right! Our sight. (Maybe I should have done a post on thankfulness for imagination… since I’m in the mood for it). Back to where I was 10 seconds ago… I don’t know where you are, but imagine flowers. Bright purple Morning Glories. Pastel pink or blue Hydrangeas. Radiant yellow Sunflowers. Small, fragile Violets. Our eyes show us the incredible, breathtaking, and magnificent sights of the world. Mountains, snowy paths, sweet little babies, fluffy puppies, and millions of other things.

What about our sense of smell? Imagine walking into Grandma’s house. You smell… yes… her homemade chocolate chip cookies. Ahhh. Heavenly, isn’t it? The sweet aroma fills your soul and spirit. You’re ushered in by the warmth of her stove and the scent of cinnamon apple tea and cookies. Yes.

Now imagine you’re outside. It’s the strike of dawn. The sun is coming up. You pause and look about. Cows in the distance. You smell the dew that was sprinkled by God as a gift upon the freshly cut grass. You hear the chickens’ soft, soothing clucking as they lay breakfast’s eggs. You smell hay that was cut and bundled.

It’s an amazing thing, you guys.

Not to get into more details, as it is late now, but what about hearing? We hear magnificent orchestras play their symphonies. We hear the Word of God preached. We hear the encouraging words from our friends and family.

Imagine life without taste. It would be… well…. tasteless…. dull.

We have been blessed.

5 thoughts on “I Am Thankful For…. Senses

  1. Well, I mean “Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery” 🙂 Just kidding… after all, my intention of writing all those thankful posts was to inspire others to really consider the things that they are thankful for. I love getting to hear what you are thankful for. And after all these days, I’m starting to move into that proverbial box you mentioned because content is hard. Not to say that I don’t have a gazillion things to be thankful for, it’s just that actually pinpointing all of them into a couple of paragraphs is challenging. 🙂
    Thanks for another great post!
    ♥♥♥ Laura

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Very well worded, Aly!!! You really bring all of the senses out, and make me feel oh so very thankful for them! Even though Laura Rose spoke on senses already, it’s so good to be reminded of how it shouldn’t be taken for granted!! Thank you sister ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

