Elderberry Popsicles

Hello, everyone!
I read a blog called Wellness Mama, and I love it. Katie, the ‘wellness mama’, is a very creative woman. She is all about organic, natural recipes. She lives to help her family live a healthy lifestyle.
She recently published a post called ‘Elderberry Popsicles Recipe (Soothing for Sore Throats)’. I thought it was so cool. I haven’t blogged about sickness yet, or cures for headaches, fevers, etc., but something y’all should know about me is that I despise sore throats. I’d be willing to be sick with a hacking cough and a stuffed nose for three times as long if only I could avoid a sore throat. Even if my throat isn’t sore, if it’s just a bit scratchy, it drives me nuts! Weird, I know. Anyway, this post was something I could picture me using in the future.
I’ve actually been sick with a pretty nasty cold and fever these past few days, so perfect timing, right? Thankfully, I didn’t get a sore throat. I don’t get sore throats with every cold, and I wouldn’t hesitate to say that that’s the Lord’s mercy on me. 😀
Now, we don’t have any Elderberry bushes around here (at least, that I know of) so I can’t exactly go to the woods in my backyard and gather some of these useful berries. There are some bushes on my church’s property, so maybe I’ll gather berries there. I’ll try to get around to trying this recipe out. For now, here’s the recipe!

Elderberry Popsicles Recipe (Soothing for Sore Throats)

Prep time
10 mins
Total time
10 mins
These delicious elderberry popsicles are packed with nutrient dense ingredients and antioxidants. We love them for soothing a sore throat or during colds and flu.
Author: Katie Wells (Wellness Mama)
Recipe type: Remedy or dessert
Ingredients
  • 3 T elderberries
  • ¾ cup filtered water
  • ½ cup blueberries, fresh or frozen
  • 2 T raw honey
  • 1 T grass-fed gelatin
  • 1 cups coconut water or coconut juice
  • The juice of 1 lemon (or to taste)
Instructions
  1. In a small saucepan combine the elderberries and water. Bring it to a boil, then reduce and gently simmer for 15 minutes. You’re making elderberry tea here, just extra strength.
  2. Strain the elderberries from the water with a fine mesh strainer or cheesecloth. Make sure you really squeeze them to get the juice out. Pour the elderberry tea into back into the clean saucepan.
  3. Sprinkle the gelatin over the elderberry tea and let it absorb for a few minutes. If your raw honey is really thick, then add it too after the gelatin has gelled a bit. Gently heat the mixture over very low heat, stirring slowly just until everything is combined and melty. You don’t want to overheat this, or the honey won’t be raw anymore!
  4. To your blender add the coconut water and blueberries, then blend until smooth. Pour the coconut mixture and the rest of the ingredients into the elderberry mixture, and stir just until combined.
  5. Pour the elderberry popsicle mix into your favorite popsicle molds and freeze until firm.

***

Well, there you are! I hope this comes in handy for someone out there! 😉 I highly recommend you read the rest of the Wellness Mama’s post on her blog. She provides many nutritional facts on this wonderful, natural, and safe way to cure a sore throat. For a link to the post, click here. I got this recipe straight from her website, and there’s a link to her website homepage at the beginning of this post. Also *echem* I am fully aware that the featured picture of this post is of blueberries, but I don’t have anything better. 😉

Have a blessed day! Oh, and a wonderful Lord’s Day!

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

Leave a Reply

