‘In The Rain’- Part 1/By Schylie La Belle/Last few Days

Hello, everyone!

I hope your week has gone well. πŸ˜‰ Before I begin the actual post, I just want to tell you what I did on Thursday, Friday, and today!

On Thursday, my mom, grandma, and I went to the…… get ready for it…… the Boston Nutcracker. It was so so so so gooooood!!! I used to dance ballet (for about 10 years). I got all the way to my pointe shoes… or toe shoes… I could never remember the correct term. (I’d like to apologize to my beloved dance teacher if she’s reading this, I’m sorry I could never remember the right name). Anyway, I miss it, but I’m glad that I have more time on my hands! When I left dance I started GEMS, which I’m pleased with. I love interacting with the kids there. Also, when I watch dancers, I love identifying certain moves and techniques. So, that was fun!

Yesterday was GEMS and Cadets. We went caroling at a Senior Citizens home, and that was wonderful! Then, afterward, my younger brother went to his friend’s house and I brought three of my friends home to stay two nights. Today, we have eaten breakfast, watched a musical/movie (which I hope to do a review on fairly soon), and have just hung out. We’re resting now until we go to the Boston Science Museum. Oh, and it snowed!

Today, I have a special start of a new series of posts! My dear friend, Schylie La Belle, is letting me post one of her stories in parts. Schylie is aΒ fantastic writer and she is one of my favorite authors. πŸ˜€ I will be splitting her story,Β In the Rain, into parts for the next few Saturdays. I don’t know how many, we shall see! Let’s begin!

****

In The Rain

By Schylie La Belle

 

Dedicated to my close friend, Christie,

Whom I love dearly and value highly.

You will always hold a special place in my heart.

With love.

Alli sighed deeply as she sat up. Rubbing her eyes with her hands, she shook her head and stood. She glanced at the clock. It was past eight-thirty; she had less than twenty minutes to get ready for work.

Throwing on a plain calico dress, she hurried to the kitchen to eat a quick breakfast. She then pulled on her boots and tied her long hair into a quick braid. She glanced into the mirror and sighed; dark circles showed under her eyes–as usual.

Alli swallowed and blinked to keep the tears at bay. Snatching up her woolen coat, she opened the door and stepped out into the hallway. She descended the stairs slowly, careful not to tax herself tooΒ much. She opened the door of the tenement house and stepped out onto the busy street. The crisp, spring air stung her face as she began the short walk to the seamstress shop.

The bell on the door rung as she entered. It was much warmer inside. She walked to the back of the store and hung her jacket on a peg.

β€œGood morning, Alli,” came a voice from behind her. β€œHow are you?”

Alli turned and smiled weakly. It was her coworker. β€œHi, Laura. I’m fine; how are you?”

β€œBetter than ever. I got a raise this morning.” Laura’s wide smile showed her excitement.

β€œI’m very happy for you. I guess I’d better find Miss Weston and get to work.”

Laura nodded and skipped to her work table, settling down to her sewing machine. With a sigh, Alli crossed the floor and entered a small room that served as the owner’s office. Miss Weston was seated quietly at her desk.

β€œGood morning, Miss Weston.”

The middle-aged woman looked up and smiled. β€œHello, Alli. I have a large project for you today.” She stood and led Alli out of the room. She approached Alli’s work table and pointed to a dark blue dress folded upon it.

β€œThis dress needs to be taken in one inch,” she explained. She picked it up and showed her the areas in need of new hemming. β€œThis will take you most of the day. If there’s still time before closing, I will give you another project.”

β€œVery well. I’ll start straight away.” Alli seated herself and set to work

Biting the thread, Alli glanced up at the clock on the wall: twelve-thirty exactly. She hopped up, threw on her coat, and hurried out the door. After looking both ways, she crossed the street and entered the homey cafe loved by everyone in the town.

Closing the door behind her, she breathed in the rich smell of Jane’s famous apple pie. Most of the tables were full. Alli scanned the faces around the room. Just as she began to wonder if he was late, she saw Dick wave at her from the far corner of the room. She waved back and weaseled through the tables.

****

Next Saturday, the part will be longer. Since I wanted to talk about the Nutcracker and the Science Museum and all that fun stuff. πŸ˜‰ I hope that this is a good introduction to the story, though!

Have a blessed day!

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

One thought on “‘In The Rain’- Part 1/By Schylie La Belle/Last few Days

Leave a Reply

