Baked French Toast

Ahhhh….. Christmas break….. That has absolutely nothing to do with this post, but I just wanted to say it. So wonderful. 🙂

Anyway, I have a recipe I want to share today. On Saturday, I mentioned how I had my friends over and all that fun stuff. That morning I made Baked French Toast for breakfast and it was so good! I had had it before then, but I never made it. It was super, super easy and I have almost memorized the recipe. I made it again this morning for my family and they all loved it. I thought I’d share it with y’all! It was given to my mom by my Aunt Joanne (thanks, Aunt Joanne, if you’re reading this!) and now I’m using it.

 

Baked French Toast

This Is What You Will Need:

  • 10-12 slices of white Pepperidge Farm bread
  • 1/2 c. half&half
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1 stick of butter

Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon together. Mix half&half and eggs together. Preheat the oven to 350°. Put the stick of butter in a 9×13 pan and put it in the hot oven to melt. Mix some of the brown sugar mixture with the melted butter- don’t use it all! Reserve a little bit. Layer bread slices two layers thick in the pan, over the butter/sage mixture. Pour the egg mixture on top of the bread. (Make sure it is poured evenly). Sprinkle the rest of the brown sugar recipe over the bread.

I have cooked it right away, but the recipe says you can store it in the refrigerator overnight. When you’re ready to bake it, put it in the oven at 350° for 30 minutes. I have found that if you do it for exactly 30 minutes and then let it cool for 5, it’s perfect. The recipe also says to cover it with foil when you bake it, but I haven’t done that. If one of you tries that, let me know how it goes! 😉

I hope you enjoy this delicious breakfast! We often make it for Christmas, but I guess we’re making it early this year. Have a blessed day!

 

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

4 thoughts on “Baked French Toast

Leave a Reply

