3 Reasons You Should Be Telling People About Jesus Christ Right Now!

Hi, everyone!

Has it really been since April 2nd that I posted? Yikes!! I’m sorry, you guys! Inspiration has been low lately and other things have been taking up my time. I hope you enjoy this post though! God bless you 🙂

****

Before I jump into this post, I want to recommend an amazing book. It’s called Will Our Generation Speak?: A Call to be Bold with the Gospel by Grace Mally.

You can order it from Amazon for $14.00 (paperback). Here’s the link for that: https://www.amazon.com/Will-Generation-Speak-Grace-Mally/dp/0971940584/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1492031931&sr=8-1&keywords=will+our+generation+speak.

Grace Mally does an incredible job explaining the importance of witnessing, how to witness, and relating to her readers. When I first read the book I was so inspired to go out and practice what she teaches. However, when I read it the second time, I actually did. And I haven’t regretted my decision since. I’ve read the book many more times than twice, and every time I get a new inspiration.

The table of contents is as follows:

1. Only One Chance to Be Young!
2. The Little Engine That Couldn’t
3. Is Your Perspective Upside Down?
4. Tracts
5. But I’m Scared!
6. Full of Grace and Truth
7. Listen But Lead
8. Keys to Confidence
9. Moving the Hand of God
10. When They Aren’t So Friendly
11. Joy
12. Who? Where? How?
13. Seventeen Ways to Start Conversations
14. If the Foundations are Destroyed
15. How We Know That We Know
16. Start at Home But Aim for the World
17. The Esther 4:14 Principle

 

Not only does Grace tell engaging stories, she decorates her pages with thought-provoking comics that cause you to further process what you’re reading.

“Grace has an open and engaging writing style which makes for an easy enjoyable read. ..An excellent guide for Christians who struggle with witnessing at any age.”

-Michael Farris, Chancellor, Patrick Henry College

I could go on and on about this book, but I’m trying to wrap this up so we can get to the point of this post. 😉

Onward!

****

Today (tonight, rather, as it has grown quite late) I wanted to talk about evangelism. Being good and faithful witnesses for our Savior. I won’t say much here because I’d like to let the rest of this post speak for itself. I hope you take something away from this and you are blessed!

Reason #1

People are in grave danger… and they need a Savior!

Picture this: You’re sitting on a bench in a park… peacefully reading as the birds sing in the trees above you. Construction workers had been at the park earlier that day; they were digging trenches for pipes. The crew had gone home but left the trenches un-protected. You look up from your book and see a person walking towards the trench. You notice he’s using a cane- a blind man. You think to yourself, “Maybe I should tell him that there’s a trench up ahead… he could get hurt.” You continue to watch him, walking nearer and nearer to the danger that lies ahead. “No,” you think again. “He looks so happy, I don’t want to disrupt his walk. Besides, what if he laughs at me? And I don’t want to offend him.”

You can only imagine what happens next in such a terrifying scenario! But… it’s supposed to be terrifying. Similar to this story, when we watch people live their daily lives we are watching them walk on towards hell. That is terrifying and we should constantly be eagerly telling people about how they can be safe- through Jesus Christ.

When we witness, yeah, we may be laughed at. We may be looked down upon. And, I know, we may even be looked at weirdly by brothers and sisters in Christ- because it’s not socially acceptable. But you know who it is acceptable to? Yeah… God!

If how we’re viewed by man is more important to us than how we’re viewed by God, then we have a problem.

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” (Gal. 1:10)

Witnessing doesn’t have to be a big production. Trust me, I’m not one for speeches. If I have eloquent words planned out inside my head, they fly out the window when I need them. A simple, “Here’s something for you to read on your break!” while handing the cashier a tract is wonderful. Or, “We’re passing these out today… did you get one?” to the young couple at the parade. There are countless ways to go about witnessing (if you read Grace Mally’s book, you can learn more about them! 😉 ).

 

Reason #2

God calls us to be good witnesses.

“But in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect…” (1 Peter 3:15)

“For you will be a witness for him to everyone of what you have seen and heard.” (Acts 22:15)

““You are my witnesses,” declares the Lord, “and my servant whom I have chosen, that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor shall there be any after me.” (Isaiah. 43:10)

“For we cannot but speak of what we have seen and heard.” (Acts 4:20)

“First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. For there is one God, and there is one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all, which is the testimony given at the proper time.” (1 Timothy 2:1-6)

“Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house.” (Matthew 5:15)

“And he commanded us to preach to the people and to testify that he is the one appointed by God to be judge of the living and the dead.” (Acts 10:42)

There are so many more verses about spreading the light of Christ… and I’m going to let the Bible speak for itself here.

 

Reason #3

Don’t you want to share the AWESOME NEWS?

Christ died for you! And He died for the people at your local store! And He died for the people at your work. And He died for the kids at your school. He died for your mailman. He died for the rest of your family. He died to save them from their sins.

Now here’s a question… do all those people know that Someone died for them? If they do, do they understand what happened and why? Do they know the weight of their sins? Do they know the consequences for those sins? Do they know how to be saved?

If I weren’t a Christian and I understood that my life was a mess of failure… I think I’d be wanting an answer!

Isn’t your heart bubbling with excitement over your incredible rescue? Don’t you want to share that joy with others? And- not only share the joy- but do what you can to direct them to safety. As children of God, we are called to be lights for the people wandering around in the darkness of this fallen world. We need to take that seriously… because God takes people’s souls very seriously.

 

 

 

 

 

Featured image taken from Stock Snap.

Leave a Reply

